We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

Gloucester Lib Dems announce shadow cabinet

June 9, 2022 9:00 AM
Liberal Democrat Shadow Cabinet

Sarah Sawyer, Anne Radley, Declan Wilson, Sebastian Field, Jeremy Hilton, Ashley Bowkett and Angela Conder

The Liberal Democrat group on Gloucester City Council form the opposition to the Conservative administration. Their leader is Cllr. Jeremy Hilton who has recently announced his shadow cabinet. The seven member team will shadow the Conservative cabinet until the elections in May 2024 when they hope to take control of the city council. Until then they will provide constructive opposition.
Cllr. Jeremy Hilton said:
"We are currently stuck with a poorly performing Conservative administration that has already had three resignations from the cabinet in recent months. They are struggling to cope and it's our job to provide constructive challenges to their policies or lack of them. We want the best for Gloucester.
"There are seven of us in our shadow cabinet. I call them 'The Magnificent Seven'. Besides challenging uninspiring plans being proposed by the cabinet we shall also be working up our policies to form our 2024 manifesto to rebuild council services on taking control."
Deputy leader, Cllr,. Declan Wilson said:
"As the second largest group, with eleven members on the council, it is down to the Liberal Democrats to challenge bad decisions and provide realistic alternatives. That is what we have been doing since May 2021. Our shadow cabinet is brimming with good ideas. We will do our best to make sure that from now until May 2024, the 'Vanishing Council' doesn't sink any further."
The Lib Dem Shadow Cabinet:
Leader and Regeneration: Cllr. Jeremy Hilton
Deputy Leader and Performance & Resources: Cllr. Declan Wilson
Culture & Leisure: Cllr: Sebastian Field
Communities & Neighbourhoods Cllr: Anne Radley
Environment: Cllr. Ashley Bowkett
Planning: Cllr. Sarah Sawyer
Housing: Cllr. Angela Conder