We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

Lib Dems announce Howard Hyman as their nomination for Mayor of Gloucester and Joanne Brown as Sheriff

April 5, 2022 7:10 PM
Councillors Howard Hyman and Joanne BrownGloucester Liberal Democrat councillor Howard Hyman is set to become the next Mayor of Gloucester.
Councillor Hyman has been a city councillor for Elmbridge ward since 2016.
Protocol at Gloucester City Council shares the civic offices between the three political groups, based on proportionally and on the size of each group. For the council year 2022/23, it is the turn of the second largest group, the Liberal Democrats to nominate who should serve as the city's Mayor and the city's Sheriff and Deputy Mayor.
Councillor Hyman has been involved in human rights issues over many years.
He is one of three councillors cross party involved in the council's Equalities Working Group. He represents a community organisation on Gloucestershire's Strategic Hate Crime and Incident Group. He is a former Sheriff and Deputy Mayor so is aware of what is involved in the role of Mayor.
"As Mayor, I would be particularly focussed on cultivating the positive image of the city and recognising the amazing work of community, voluntary groups and organisations who do so much to improve the lives of others," Councillor Hyman said.
The Liberal Democrats' nomination for Sheriff and Deputy Mayor, will be Barnwood councillor, Joanne Brown.
Councillor Brown said: "I am delighted to be nominated for Sheriff and Deputy Mayor of Gloucester and consider it an honour and privilege. I have lived in Gloucester for more than 30 years and have a great interest in Gloucester history, am a member of the Civic Trust and also a lifetime member of the Friends of Gloucester Cathedral.
"I look forward to supporting the Mayor of Gloucester."
Gloucester's next Mayor will be agreed at the annual council meeting on May 23.